QINOUS storage system Q! CompactL on Ruhnu.

The Estonian island of Ruhnu is already popular with Baltic Sea lovers – for good reasons, such as its picturesque, easily accessible beaches and its first class sailing area. On the highest point of the island stands a four-legged lighthouse, which was prefabricated in France in 1877. The design stems from none other than Gustave Eiffel, the architect of the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

The Ruhnu wooden church, built in 1644, is one of the oldest wooden buildings in Estonia. The adjacent stone Lutheran church from 1912 is today the place of worship.

The Estonian island of Ruhnu

Attractions on the island of Ruhnu. | Photos by Tarmo Roop and Liisa Veerus (Wikimedia)

And now Ruhnu can serve as a model for other European islands – in terms of energy supply, which is based on a QINOUS storage system.

The entire electricity consumed on the island – around 450 megawatt hours per year – was previously produced by a diesel generator. Enefit Green, part of the Estonian Eesti Energia Group, has invested around 500,000 euros in the combined solar wind diesel battery storage system, which was officially inaugurated on 23rd November 2018. Enefit Green leader Aavo Kärmas praises the smart Microgrid solution: „More than half of the electricity required on the island is generated from renewable sources.“

QINOUS engineer Maik Barth, who installed and commissioned the Q! CompactL storage system on Rhunu island, sums up: „I wish the islanders a bright and warm winter in their homes and hope that they show their many guests our energy storage system. Thank you for the exceptional hospitality during the installation“.

Title photo courtesy of Eesti Energia Group.

QINOUS-Speicher Q! CompactL versorgt Ruhnu.

Die estnische Insel Ruhnu ist ein Reisetipp für Ostseeliebhaber – aus guten Gründen, etwa den malerischen, leicht erreichbaren Stränden und dem hervorragenden Segelrevier. Auf dem höchsten Punkt der Insel steht ein vierbeiniger Leuchtturm, der 1877 in Frankreich vorgefertigt wurde. Der Entwurf stammt von keinem Geringeren als Gustave Eiffel, dem Architekten des Pariser Eiffelturms.

Die Ruhnu-Holzkirche, erbaut 1644, gehört zu den ältesten Holzbauten Estlands überhaupt. Die daneben liegende steinerne Lutheraner-Kirche von 1912 ist heute der Ort für Gottesdienste.

Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel Ruhnu

Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel Ruhnu. | Fotos: Tarmo Roop und Liisa Veerus (Wikimedia)

Jetzt kann Ruhnu auch in Punkto Energie als Modell für andere europäische Inseln dienen. Die Versorgung basiert auf einem QINOUS-Stromspeicher.

Der gesamte auf der Insel verbrauchte Strom – jährlich rund 450 Megawattstunden – wurde früher per Dieselgenerator erzeugt. Enefit Green, Teil der estnischen Eesti Energia Group, hat rund 500.000 Euro in das kombinierte Solar-Wind-Diesel- Batteriespeichersystem investiert, das im November 2018 eingeweiht wurde. Enefit Green Chef Aavo Kärmas lobt die smarte Microgrid-Lösung: „Mehr als die Hälfte des auf der Insel benötigten Stroms wird aus erneuerbaren Quellen erzeugt.“

QINOUS-Ingenieur Maik Barth hat den Speicher des Typs Q! CompactL auf der Insel in Betrieb genommen und resümiert: “ Ich wünsche den Bewohnern der Insel einen hellen und warmen Winter in ihren Häusern und hoffe, dass sie ihren vielen Gästen das Energiespeichersystem zeigen. Danke für die außergewöhnliche Gastfreundschaft während der Installation.“