The new QINOUS managing director talks about sales targets, electricity costs and the future fund for financing customer projects.

Reinhard, how did QINOUS perform in 2018?

Reinhard Edelmann: We almost quadrupled our sales compared to last year. This is a great achievement, especially since the Qinous staff has hardly grown since 2017.

What are Qinous’ sales targets for the future?

Reinhard: We are aiming for an annual revenue increase of a high double-figure percentage – at least. The market potential is truly gigantic. With the Rolls-Royce Group we now have a strategic partner who, for example, delivers first-class quality in container production and supports us in sales. This partnership allows us to concentrate on our core competencies: We design and develop systems, we write and optimize the necessary software – and finally we bring the finished products to market.

Rolls-Royce’s entry into Qinous at the end of September drew a lot of attention among experts. You have been through many financing rounds in your professional life, mostly sitting on the other side of the table, often as a venture capitalist. What was special about this financing round?

Reinhard: We didn’t want a purely return-oriented venture capitalist, but a strategic partner who would help us grow. Money alone would not have been enough. We therefore talked with several industrial companies right from the start – and in the end found an ideal partner with Rolls-Royce Power Systems and its German subsidiary mtu in Friedrichshafen.

How did you personally experience this financing round?

Reinhard: When I came to QINOUS in mid-February 2018 through the arrangement of Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB), the financing round was already in full swing and various investment documents were already available. I was able to build on this and bring negotiations to a conclusion. My predecessor as CFO had left the company in December 2017, and so Qinous founder and managing director Steffen Heinrich had to temporarily shoulder the finance part as well, which was an enormous burden in terms of time and strength.

Now the financing of QINOUS is secured. But there are certainly still pitfalls lurking n day-to-day business, aren’t there?

Reinhard: Battery manufacturers are a problem. In the lithium-ion segment there are only a handful of producers worldwide. This oligopoly can dictate prices and select customers. Size plays a decisive role here. The larger the order volume, the better the negotiating position. That is why we want to form purchasing cooperatives with other companies in the future. In the past, we were nevertheless able to purchase the necessary quantities of battery cells, thanks to Steffen´s good connection to LG and Samsung, that stems from his Younicos days.

Speaking of which: QINOUS founders Steffen Heinrich and Busso von Bismarck had both worked together for several years at Berlin-based storage specialist Younicos. How important was that for QINOUS?

Reinhard: Both founders certainly acquired profound market knowledge during their work at storage pioneer Younicos. During this time, their common idea matured to offer storage capacity between 30 kilowatts and several megawatts in the commercial industry segment. Both presented their idea to the Younicos management, but the latter waved away, and QINOUS was finally founded in 2013…

Most industrial microgrids worldwide still run on diesel engines. So why should hotel owners or hospital managers rely on electricity storage and renewables?

Reinhard: Eventually this the result of commercial logic. A generator can produce about three kilowatt hours of electricity with one litre of diesel. At current prices of around 60 euro cents per litre, one kilowatt hour of diesel electricity costs 20 cents. On top of this to this you have maintenance, depreciation and other costs. To give an example: In the Chilean Atacama Desert, where we have already equipped a luxury hotel with a QINOUS storage system, solar power is now being produced at low cost. Added to this are battery costs of eight to ten cents. All in all, a PV storage hybrid is much cheaper than a diesel generator. Nevertheless, many managers are reluctant to convert their electricity production to renewables.

Why?

The two managing directors in front of a QINOUS power storage: Founder Steffen Heinreich (left) and CFO Reinhard Edelmann (right)

The two managing directors in front of a QINOUS power storage: Founder Steffen Heinreich (left) and CFO Reinhard Edelmann (right)

Reinhard: The price of a photovoltaic or a wind power plant is much higher than that of a diesel generator. After installation however, renewable enrgy plants run almost without any operating costs. The switch from operating costs to one-off investment costs is therefore extremely sensible. But it is nevertheless a huge hurdle for many of our potential customers, because they simply lack the liquidity for this investment.

Don’t they get any money from banks? Aren´t such storage projects bound to attract investors?

Reinhard: In the storage sector between 30 kilowatts and several megawatts, project financing by institutional investors such as banks and insurance companies is generally not available. The money needed for schools, hospitals and hotels are simply too small. Our customers have to raise between 400,000 euros and 1.5 million euros. The lower limit for institutional investors is between five and twenty million euros. This is mainly due to the high due diligence costs they have to pay for an investment audit.

Can this problem be solved?

Reinhard: We plan to help our customers to purchase our products by arranging liquidity for them. We are aiming for a kind of leasing model. With a PV storage hybrid system, a customer can save tens of thousands of euros in electricity cost every year. Now imagine these savings being regularly transferred to QINOUS. Then after a certain period, typically between six and eight years, the customer has completely paid off the system; it then belongs to him. In the world of finance such a solution is called “BOOT”.

What does BOOT mean?

Reinhard: The abbreviation stands for “Build-Own-Operate-Transfer”. We will try to raise capital for a fund that owns all of our clients’ investments. Clients pay interest on their investments and these instalments flow into the fund.

What role does QINOUS play in this fund?

Reinhard: We will be responsible as partners for all technical risks and ensure that any technical problem is solved quickly. We are currently trying to attract fund partners who can cover political risks. Our aim is to offer investors the greatest possible security for their deposits.

Who will manage the fund?

Reinhard: An experienced fund manager who makes his decisions independently. He must decide for himself in which of our customers’ projects he does want to invest – and in which he does not.

Why don’t you manage this fund yourself?

QINOUS CFO Reinhard Edelmann:

QINOUS-CFO Reinhard Edelmann: “We are aiming for a kind of leasing model.”

Reinhard: On the one hand, as CFO of QINOUS, I simply don’t have the time. On the other hand, we avoid possible conflicts of interest from an investors’ point of view. Otherwise it would be conceivable that we equip customers who are not so strong with investment money just to increase our turnover – while all financial risks are passed on to the fund investors. This will not happen because the fund manager, who is independent, would not finance such customers.

Do you expect strong demand for shares of the QINOUS fund?

Reinhard: Absolutely. Institutional investors often invest between five and ten percent of their assets in alternative investments, which include solar and wind farms as well as QINOUS storage projects. Currently we are benefiting from the general situation on the financial markets: Investors are in real trouble because government bonds hardly yield any interest. At the same time, state-subsidized energy projects in Germany and other industrialized countries are being phased out. In the future, only energy projects with a clear business model will be marketable – like ours.

What does this mean in concrete terms?

Reinhard: The QINOUS fund will offer attractive conditions. Depending on the project, returns on equity of between 15 and 25 percent are possible.

 

_______________________________________________________________
The interview was conducted by Joachim Müller-Soares.

Der neue QINOUS-Geschäftsführer über Umsatzziele, Stromkosten und den geplanten Fonds zur Finanzierung von Kundenprojekten.

Reinhard, wie ist das Geschäftsjahr 2018 für QINOUS ausgefallen?

Reinhard Edelmann: Wir haben unseren Umsatz im Vergleich zum Vorjahr fast vervierfacht. Das ist eine tolle Leistung, zumal das QINOUS-Personal seit 2017 zahlenmäßig kaum gewachsen ist.

Welche Umsatzziele hat QINOUS für die Zukunft?

Reinhard: Wir streben beim Umsatz jährliche Wachstumsraten im hohen zweistelligen Prozentbereich an – mindestens.  Das Marktpotenzial ist jedenfalls gigantisch. Mit dem Weltkonzern Rolls-Royce besitzen wir einen strategischen Partner, der zum Beispiel im Bereich Containerproduktion erstklassige Qualität liefert und uns im Vertrieb unterstützt. Wir können uns in dieser Partnerschaft auf unsere Kernkompetenzen konzentrieren: Anlagen konzipieren und entwickeln, die dazu notwendige Software schreiben und optimieren – und die fertigen Produkte am Ende vermarkten.

Der Rolls-Royce-Einstieg bei QINOUS Ende September hat in der Fachwelt viel Aufsehen erregt. Nun hast Du selbst in Deinem Berufsleben schon viele Finanzierungsrunden mitgemacht, meist auf der anderen Seite, oft als Wagniskapitalgeber. Was war an dieser Finanzierungsrunde besonders?

Reinhard: Wir wollten keinen rein renditefixierten Venture Capitalisten, sondern einen strategischen Partner, der uns beim Wachsen hilft. Geld alleine wäre zu wenig gewesen. Wir haben daher von Anfang an das Gespräch mit mehreren Industrieunternehmen gesucht – und am Ende mit Rolls-Royce Power Systems und dessen deutscher Konzerntochter mtu in Friedrichshafen einen idealen Partner gefunden.

Wie hast Du persönlich diese Finanzierungsrunde erlebt?

Reinhard: Als ich Mitte Februar 2018 auf Vermittlung der Investitionsbank Berlin (IBB) zu QINOUS kam, war die Finanzierungsrunde bereits in vollem Gange und eine ganze Reihe von Investmentdokumenten bereits vorhanden. Darauf konnte ich aufbauen und die Investorengespräche zu Ende führen. Mein Vorgänger als CFO hatte die Firma im Dezember 2017 verlassen, und so musste der QINOUS-Gründer und Geschäftsführer Steffen Heinrich den Finanzbereich kommissarisch mitübernehmen, was zeitlich und kräftemäßig eine enorme Belastung war.

Jetzt ist die Finanzierung von QINOUS gesichert. Aber im Tagesgeschäft lauern sicher noch Fallgruben, oder?

Reinhard: Ein Problem sind die Batteriehersteller. Im Lithium-Ionen-Segment gibt es weltweit nur eine Handvoll Produzenten. Dieses Oligopol kann Preise diktieren und sich die Kunden aussuchen. Dabei spielt Größe eine entscheidende Rolle. Je größer die Bestellvolumen, desto besser die Verhandlungsposition. Daher wollen wir künftig mit anderen Unternehmen als Einkaufsgemeinschaften auftreten. In der Vergangenheit konnten wir die notwendigen Mengen an Batteriezellen übrigens trotzdem erwerben, dank der guten Drähte zu LG und Samsung, die Steffen aus seiner Younicos-Zeit besitzt.

Apropos: Die QINOUS -Gründer Steffen Heinrich und Busso von Bismarck hatten beide gemeinsam zuvor mehrere Jahre beim Berliner Speicherspezialisten Younicos gearbeitet. Wie wichtig war das für QINOUS?

Reinhard: Sicher haben beide Gründer in ihrer Zeit beim Speicherpionier Younicos profundes Marktwissen erworben. Während dieser Zeit reifte ihre gemeinsame Idee, Speicher im Gewerbe- Industriesegment zwischen 30 Kilowatt und einigen Megawatt Leistung anzubieten. Beide trugen ihre Idee der Younicos-Führung vor; die aber winkte ab, und so kam es 2013 letztlich zur Gründung von QINOUS…

Noch laufen die meisten Microgrids für Gewerbe und Industrie weltweit mit Dieselmotoren. Warum sollten also etwa Hotelbesitzer oder Krankenhausmanager auf Stromspeicher und Erneuerbare setzen?

Reinhard: Das ist ein Gebot kaufmännischer Logik. Mit einem Liter Diesel kann ein Generator etwa drei Kilowattstunden Strom erzeugen. Bei aktuell rund 60 Eurocent pro Liter kostet eine Kilowattstunde Diesel-Strom also allein 20 Cent. Dazu kommen Wartung, Abschreibung und andere Kosten. Zum Vergleich: In der chilenischen Atacama-Wüste, wo wir bereits ein Luxushotel mit einem QINOUS-Speicher ausgestattet haben, liegen die Produktionskosten für Solarstrom inzwischen bei nur noch zwei Cent pro Kilowattstunde. Dazu kommen Batteriekosten von acht bis zehn Cent. In der Summe ist ein PV-Speicher-Hybrid also deutlich günstiger als ein Dieselgenerator. Trotzdem zögern viele Manager, die Stromproduktion auf Erneuerbare umzurüsten.

Die beiden Geschäftsführer vor einem QINOUS-Stromspeicher: Gründer Steffen Heinreich (li.) und CFO Reinhard Edelmann (re.)

Die beiden Geschäftsführer vor einem QINOUS-Stromspeicher: Gründer Steffen Heinreich (li.) und CFO Reinhard Edelmann (re.)

Warum?

Reinhard: Photovoltaik- und Windanlagen kosten bei der Anschaffung viel mehr als etwa Dieselgeneratoren, danach haben sie aber kaum operative Kosten. Die Umstellung von operativen Kosten auf einmalige Investitionskosten ist also extrem sinnvoll, stellt aber für viele unserer potenziellen Kunden eine riesige Hürde dar, weil ihnen für dieses Investment schlicht die Liquidität fehlt.

Bekommen die von den Banken kein Geld? Eigentlich müssten solche Speicherprojekte doch die Investoren begeistern….

Reinhard: Im Speicherbereich zwischen 30 Kilowatt und einigen Megawatt steht Projektfinanzierung durch institutionelle Investoren wie Banken und Versicherungen in der Regel nicht zur Verfügung. Dafür sind die Summen, die Anlagen etwa für Schulen, Krankenhäuser und Hotels benötigen, einfach zu klein. Unsere Kunden müssen zwischen 400.000 Euro und 1,5 Millionen Euro aufbringen. Die untere Grenze für institutionelle Investoren liegt zwischen fünf und zwanzig Millionen Euro. Darunter befassen die sich erst gar nicht mit einem Projekt, das liegt vor allem an den hohen Due Diligence Kosten, die sie für eine Investmentprüfung zahlen müssen.

Ist dieses Problem zu lösen?

Reinhard: Wir planen, unseren Kunden beim Kauf unserer Produkte liquiditätstechnisch zu helfen. Dabei streben wir eine Art Leasing-Modell an. Der Kunde spart mit einer PV-Speicher-Hybridanlage jedes Jahr Zehntausende Euro an Stromkosten. Das Ersparte überweist er regelmäßig an QINOUS, und nach einer bestimmten Zeit, typischerweise zwischen sechs und acht Jahren, hat er die Anlage komplett abbezahlt; sie gehört ihm dann. Im Fachjargon wird solch eine Lösung „BOOT“ genannt.

Was bedeutet BOOT?

Reinhard: Die Abkürzung steht für „Build-Own-Operate-Transfer.“ Wir werden versuchen, Kapital für einen Fonds einzusammeln, der Eigentümer aller Anlagen unserer Kunden ist. Die Kunden zahlen ihre Anlagen verzinst ab und diese Raten fließen in den Fonds.

Welche Rolle spielt QINOUS in diesem Fonds?

Reinhard: Wir werden als Partner für alle technischen Risiken geradestehen und sicherstellen, dass etwaige technische Probleme schnell gelöst werden. Wir versuchen derzeit, weitere Fondspartner zu gewinnen, die politische Risiken absichern können. Unser Ziel ist, Investoren größtmögliche Sicherheiten für Ihre Einlagen zu bieten.

QINOUS-Finanzchef Reinhard Edelmann: "Wir streben eine Art Leasing-Modell an."

QINOUS-Finanzchef Reinhard Edelmann: „Wir streben eine Art Leasing-Modell an.“

Wer wird den Fonds managen?

Reinhard: Ein erfahrener Fondsmanager, der seine Entscheidungen weisungsunabhängig trifft. Er muss selbst entscheiden, in welche Anlagen unserer Kunden er investiert – und in welche nicht.

Warum managst Du diesen Fonds nicht selbst?

Reinhard: Zum einen fehlt mir dazu als CFO von QINOUS einfach die Zeit. Zum anderen vermeiden wir damit mögliche Interessenkonflikte aus Sicht der Investoren. Es wäre ja sonst denkbar, dass wir nicht so starke Kunden mit Anlagen ausstatten, nur um unseren Umsatz zu steigern – und die finanziellen Risiken auf die Fondsinvestoren abwälzen. Das wird nicht passieren, weil der Fondsmanager unabhängig ist, und solche Kunden nicht finanzieren würde.

Rechnest Du mit hoher Nachfrage nach Anteilen am QINOUS -Fonds?

Reinhard: Durchaus. Institutionelle Investoren stecken oft zwischen fünf und zehn Prozent ihrer Anlagen in Alternative Investments, zu denen zum Beispiel Sonnen- und Windparks ebenso zählen wie die QINOUS-Speicherprojekte. Derzeit begünstigt uns die allgemeine Lage an den Finanzmärkten: Es herrscht bei Investoren regelrecht Anlagenotstand, weil Staatsanleihen kaum Zinsen bringen. Gleichzeitig laufen staatlich subventionierte Energieprojekte in Deutschland und in anderen Industrieländern aus. Künftig werden nur Energieprojekte mit klarem Geschäftsmodell marktfähig sein – so wie unsere.

Was heißt das konkret?

Reinhard: Der QINOUS-Fonds wird attraktive Renditen bieten. Je nach Projekt sind Eigenkapitalverzinsungen zwischen 15 und 25 Prozent möglich.

__________________________________________________________________
Das Interview führte Joachim Müller-Soares.