Indonesian island resort is powered by PV and a QINOUS-storage system.

Misool founders Andrew and Marit Miners have just celebrated the tenth anniversary of their eco-resort on the island that was once a shark-finning camp. Since 2008, the diving resort has gained a lot of positive reviews. „The resort is arrayed around a breathtaking lagoon that boasts a sumptuously alive reef just outside the individual guest villas that are built out over the aquamarine water.“, the New York Times wrote in 2012. More recently, the Condé Nast Traveller described Misool Eco Resort as „a blow-you-away beautiful hotel constructed along strict eco-friendly lines“ .

Misool Solar Farm from QINOUSMisool’s conservation initiatives have indeed blossomed. The reserve has now grown to about the size of New York City. 15 local rangers, many of them former shark finners, patrol the region using five boats and radar surveillance to prevent fishing. There are far more mantas and 25 times more sharks on Misool’s reefs than there were 10 years ago.
These achievements, together with the outstanding beauty of the eco-resort, have been recognized on a global scale. In 2017, the World Travel & Tourist Council awarded Misool with its most prestigious prize, the Tourism of Tomorrow Award.

One year ago, the eco-resort installed a photovoltaic plant together with a QINOUS ESS storage system. For more details click here.

Misool co-founder Andrew Miners is full of praise:

“We are delighted with the performance of the QINOUS storage solution” he states. “The implementation of this hybrid system has significantly reduced our usage of fossil fuels. We are operating on an average of 55 per cent solar energy and, during our annual resort closure in July and August, the diesel generators were not switched on once. Misool is located in an area of unparalleled natural beauty and marine biodiversity. Our operational decisions must reflect the value of these natural assets and this implementation has taken us one step closer to a carbon-free future.”

 

An areal view of the PV and QINOUS energy storage system

Taucherparadies wird mit PV und QINOUS-Speicher betrieben.

Die Gründer von Misool, Marit und Andrew Miners, feierten gerade das zehnjährige Jubiläum ihres Öko-Resorts. Sie haben die Insel, einst Ausgangspunkt für illegale Haifischjagden, zu einem Taucherparadies gemacht. „Das Resort liegt an einer atemberaubenden Lagune mit einem üppigen Korallenriff unmittelbar vor den über das Wasser ragenden Gästevillen“, schwärmte die New York Times 2012. Vor kurzem beschrieb der Condé Nast Traveller das Misool Eco Resort als „ein wunderschönes Hotel, das nach streng ökologischen Gesichtspunkten gebaut wurde“.

Misools Naturschutzinitiativen kommen in der Tat gut voran. Das Reservat ist inzwischen etwa auf die Größe New York Citys angewachsen. 15 lokale Ranger, viele davon ehemalige Haifischjäger, patrouillieren die Region mit fünf Booten und Radarüberwachung, um Fischfang zu verhindern. Es gibt heute 25 mal mehr Haie an den Riffen Misools als vor 10 Jahren.

Solche Leistungen, zusammen mit der herausragenden Schönheit des Öko-Resorts, werden weltweit anerkannt. 2017 verlieh der World Travel & Tourist Council seine wichtigste Auszeichnung, den Tourism of Tomorrow Award, an Misool.

Vor einem Jahr installierte das Öko-Resort eine Photovoltaikanlage zusammen mit einem QINOUS ESS-Speichersystem. Misool-Mitbegründer Andrew Miners resümiert:
„Wir sind mit der Leistung der QINOUS Speicherlösung sehr zufrieden“, sagt er. „Die Implementierung dieses Hybridsystems hat unseren Verbrauch an fossilen Brennstoffen deutlich reduziert. Durchschnittlich 55 Prozent wird durch Solarenergie ersetzt und bei unserer jährlichen Betriebspause im Juli und August wurden die Dieselgeneratoren nicht einmal eingeschaltet. Misool befindet sich in einem Gebiet von unvergleichlicher natürlicher Schönheit und mariner Biodiversität. Unsere operativen Entscheidungen müssen den Wert dieser natürlichen Ressourcen widerspiegeln, und diese Implementierung hat uns einen Schritt näher an eine CO2-freie Zukunft herangeführt.“

 

Filmclip: Misools PV- und Speichersystem